Skip to Content

Press Releases

Reps. Clyde and Hudson Introduce Resolution to Repeal ATF's Unconstitutional Pistol Brace Rule

Washington, D.C. — Today, Reps. Andrew Clyde (GA-09), Richard Hudson (NC-09), and 180 House Republicans introduced a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution to prevent the Biden Administration’s Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) from enforcing an unconstitutional pistol brace rule. Sens. John Kennedy (R-LA) and Roger Marshall (R-KS) introduced the companion resolution in the Senate.

The rule, titled Factoring Criteria for Firearms with Attached Stabilizing Braces, would reclassify pistols as short-barreled rifles if they have a stabilizing brace attachment, even though many disabled veterans and other Americans rely on these braces to use their firearms. Under this rule, otherwise lawful gun owners could face up to 10 years in jail and thousands of dollars in fines if they fail to register pistols with stabilizing braces with the ATF. If gun owners do not register their firearms, they would have to destroy the firearm, surrender their firearm to the ATF, or remove the brace in such a way that it cannot be reattached.

“Congress must swiftly move to block the ATF’s unconstitutional pistol brace rule, as this misguided measure turns millions of law-abiding gun owners, including many disabled veterans, into criminals for merely possessing legal firearms with stabilizing braces,” said Clyde. “This abuse of rule-making authority requires either registration or a ban of pistol-braced firearms, dangerously violating our Constitution and irresponsibly disregarding Congress’ sole legislative authority. Unquestionably, this is nothing more than a reckless attempt to advance President Biden’s ultimate goal of an unarmed America. As a fierce defender of our Second Amendment freedoms and one of the few Federal Firearms Licensees in Congress, I’m proud to help lead the fight against the ATF’s latest assault on our unalienable right to keep and bear arms.”

"This rule jeopardizes the Second Amendment rights of law-abiding gun owners and disabled combat veterans,” said Hudson. “I’m proud to lead the fight in blocking the ATF’s unconstitutional pistol brace rule.” 

“Millions of law-abiding Americans use pistol braces, and many of those Americans rely on braces because they are disabled. If Congress doesn’t correct the ATF’s misguided rule, countless law-abiding gun owners in Louisiana and other states will become criminals in the blink of an eye. The Biden administration’s assault on the Second Amendment isn’t going to stop unless we defend this fundamental liberty,” said Kennedy.

“The Biden administration’s war on every American’s fundamental right to bear arms is relentless and an offense to our founders. Congress must use every tool at its disposal to stop the Biden ATF from enacting this unconstitutional gun grab and creating its newly proposed anti-2nd Amendment gun registry. The Congressional Review Act is one of those important tools and I’m pleased to co-lead this effort with Senator Kennedy,” said Marshall.

Read Fox News' exclusive on the legislation HERE

Full bill text is available HERE.

Last month, Rep. Clyde led a special order on the House floor highlighting House Republicans' opposition to the ATF's pistol brace rule. Watch his full remarks HERE.

Original co-sponsors include Representatives Robert Aderholt (AL-04), Mark Alford (MO-04), Rick Allen (GA-12), Mark Amodei (NV-02), Jodey Arrington (TX-19), Brian Babin (TX-36), Don Bacon (NE-02), Troy Balderson (OH-12), Jim Banks (IN-03), Andy Barr (KY-06), Aaron Bean (FL-04), Cliff Bentz (OR-02), Jake Bergman (MI-01), Stephanie Bice (OK-05), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Dan Bishop (NC-08), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Mike Bost (IL-12), Josh Brecheen (OK-02), Ken Buck (CO-04), Larry Bucshon (IN-08), Tim Burchett (TN-02), Michael Burgess (TX-26), Eric Burlison (MO-07), Kat Cammack (FL-03), Mike Carey (OH-15), Jerry Carl (AL-01), Buddy Carter (GA-01), Ben Cline (VA-06), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Tom Cole (OK-04), James Comer (KY-01), Eli Crane (AZ-02), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), John Curtis (UT-03), Warren Davidson (OH-08), Scott Desjarlais (TN-04), Byron Donald’s (FL-19), Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02), John Duarte (CA-13), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Neal Dunn (FL-02), Chuck Edwards (NC-11), Jake Ellzey (TX-06), Tom Emmer (MN-06), Ron Estes (KS-04), Mike Ezell (MS-04), Pat Fallon (TX-04), Randy Feenstra (IA-04), Drew Ferguson (GA-03), Brad Finstad (MN-01), Michelle Fischbach (MN-07), Scott Fitzgerald (WI-05), Chuck Fleischmann (TN-03), Mike Flood (NE-01), Virginia Foxx (NC-05), Scott Franklin (FL-18), Russell Fry (SC-07), Russ Fulcher (ID-01), Matt Gaetz (FL-01), Mike Garcia (CA-27), Carlos Gimenez (FL-28), Bob Good (VA-05), Lance Gooden (TX-05), Paul Gosar (AZ-09), Kay Granger (TX-12), Garret Graves (LA-06), Mark Green (TN-07), Morgan Griffith (VA-09), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Michael Guest (MS-03), Brett Guthrie (KY-02), Harriet Hageman (WY-At-Large), Andy Harris (MD-01), Diana Harshbarger (TN-01), Kevin Hern (OK-01), Clay Higgins (LA03), French Hill (AR-02), Ashley Hinson (IA-02), Erin Houchin (IN-09), Bill Huizenga (MI-04), Wesley Hunt (TX-38), Darrell Issa (CA-48), Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Dusty Johnson (SD-At-Large), Mike Johnson (LA-04), Bill Johnson (OH-06), Jim Jordan (OH-04), John Joyce (PA-13), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Trent Kelly (MS-01), David Kustoff (TN-08), Darin LaHood (IL-16), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Nick Langworthy (NY-23), Bob Latta (OH-05), Jake LaTurner (KS-02), Laurel Lee (FL-15), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Julia Letlow (LA-05), Barry Loudermilk (GA-11), Frank Lucas (OK-03), Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03), Morgan Luttrell (TX-08), Anna Paulina Luna (FL-13), Nancy Mace (SC-01), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Thomas Massie (KY-04), Brian Mast (FL-21), Michael McCaul (TX-10), Lisa McClain (MI-09), Tom McClintock (CA-05), Rich McCormick (GA-06), Patrick McHenry (NC-10), Catherine McMorris Rodgers (WA-05), Dan Meuser (PA-09), Mary Miller (IL-15), Carol Miller (WV-01), Max Miller (OH-07), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-01), Corey Mills (FL-07), John Moolenaar (MI-02), Alex Mooney (WV-02), Barry Moore (AL-02), Blake Moore (UT-01), Nathaniel Moran (TX-01), Greg Murphy (NC-03), Troy Nehls (TX-22), Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Zach Nunn (IA-03), Andy Ogles (TN-05), Jay Obernolte (CA-23), Burgess Owens (UT-04), Gary Palmer (AL-06), Greg Pence (IN-06), Scott Perry (PA-10), August Pfluger (TX-11), Bill Posey (FL-08), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Mike Rogers (AL-03), John Rose (TN-06), Matt Rosendale (MT-02), David Rouzer (NC-07), Chip Roy (TX-21), John Rutherford (FL-05), Austin Scott (GA-08), Keith Self (TX-03), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Jason Smith (MO-08), Adrian Smith (NE-03), Lloyd Smucker (PA-11), Victoria Spartz (IN-05), Pete Stauber (MN-08), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Bryan Steil (WI-01), Greg Steube (FL-17), Chris Stewart (UT-02), Dale Strong (AL-05), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), Claudia Tenney (NY-24), Glenn Thompson (PA-15), Tom Tiffany (WI-07), William Timmons (SC-04), David Valadao (CA-22), Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02), Beth Van Duyne (TX-24), Derrick Van Orden (WI-03), Tim Walberg (MI-05), Michael Waltz (FL-06), Randy Weber (TX-14), Daniel Webster (FL-11), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Bruce Westerman (AR-04), Roger Williams (TX-25), Joe Wilson (SC-02), Rob Wittman (VA-01), Rudy Yakym (IN-02), and Ryan Zinke (MT-01).

Office Locations

Office Locations

Washington, DC Office 445 Cannon HOB
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-9893
Fax: (202) 226-1224
Gainesville District Office 210 Washington St NW, Suite 202
Gainesville, GA 30501
Phone: (470) 768-6520
Map of U.S. Representative Andrew Clyde's office locations