Skip to Content

Press Releases

Clyde and Cloud Demand VA Rescind Illegal Abortion Rule

WASHINGTON, D.C. — On Thursday, Reps. Andrew Clyde (GA-09) and Michael Cloud (TX-27) led 43 of their colleagues in sending a letter to Veterans Affairs Secretary Denis McDonough demanding he immediately rescind the Department of Veterans Affairs’ (VA) new rule that provides abortion services through the VA healthcare system.

In the letter, lawmakers blast the VA’s interim rule, explaining Secretary McDonough’s “misguided decision is using taxpayer dollars to conduct this heinous action, which is a direct attack on the consciences of countless Americans, and goes against decades of precedent prohibiting taxpayer-funded abortions.

“The VA should be focused on providing timely, high-quality care to our nation’s veterans, not murdering precious citizens with taxpayer dollars,” said Clyde. “If Secretary McDonough refuses to rescind this reprehensible and unlawful rule, Congress must swiftly hold the Biden Administration accountable for this unprecedented overreach and abuse of power.”

"President Biden is again attempting to twist the law to his will by illegally authorizing the Department of Veterans Affairs to provide abortion services," Congressman Cloud said. "The VA should remain committed to providing critical care to support the lives of our veterans, not be another last ditch attempt by the Biden administration to provide taxpayer-funded abortions."

Co-signers include: Representatives Brian Babin (TX-36), Jim Banks (IN-3), Andy Biggs (AZ-5), Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Ken Buck (CO-04), Tim Burchett (TN-02), Kat Cammack (FL-03), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Warren Davidson (OH-08), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Jake Ellzey (TX-06), Drew Ferguson (GA-03), Michelle Fischbach (MN-07), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Bob Good (VA-05), Paul Gosar (AZ-04), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), Diana Harshbarger (TN-01), Kevin Hern (OK-01), Jody Hice (GA-10), Jim Jordan (OH-4), Fred Keller (PA-12), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Barry Loudermilk (GA-11), Brian Mast (FL-18), Lisa McClain (MI-10), Mary Miller (IL-15), Barry Moore (AL-02), Markwayne Mullin (OK-02), Troy Nehls (TX-22), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Burgess Owens (UT-04), Steve Palazzo (MS-04), Matt Rosendale (MT-At-Large), Chip Roy (TX-21), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Greg Steube (FL-17), Randy Weber (TX-14), and Daniel Webster (FL-11).

Supporting organizations include: Family Research Council

Full text of the letter is available HERE.

Office Locations

Office Locations

Washington, DC Office 445 Cannon HOB
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-9893
Fax: (202) 226-1224
Gainesville District Office 210 Washington St NW, Suite 202
Gainesville, GA 30501
Phone: (470) 768-6520
Map of U.S. Representative Andrew Clyde's office locations